Remove the primary user from Intune devices with powershell (Switch to shared device)

If an Intune device is not enrolled as a shared device or kiosk device, it always has a primary user. This creates a relation between the device and the user. This user is also used to license the device. This user only has the possibility to see this device in the company portal / company portal website and trigger certain self service actions. Also, while troubleshooting, an Intune admin can select this user in the Troubleshooting + support menu in Intune and directly see their devices.

The primary user is automatically added after the the enrollment of an intune managed device. It is possible to change the user to an other or remove this user to switch the device into a shared device.

Read More »